Hamsterprophecy: Prevision

It\’s All About Pen, Paper and People.

Damn Failure

Posted by Nathan P. on October 5, 2005

I just don’t think that I can write a playable game in 24 hours.

I’ve been (attempting) to enter the Ronnies. Which involves writing 24-hour RPGs. And, dammit, but I think my brain just doesn’t work that way.

My entry for September (She’s…) was drek. I mean, sure, it has some cool ideas, but I cooled on it as I wrote it, and I’m pretty sure it shows. Ron has yet to post his feedback on it, but unless he sees something there that I don’t, I don’t think it’s gonna end up getting developed.

My time limit for my attempt at the October one (Forged by the Blazing God) just passed – and only an example of play away. Oh well. It also has some cool ideas, but it’s gonna get filed in the “Game Seeds” folder for awhile. I just don’t have the focus to sit down and grind one out in a day.

Game Chef is a better fit for me, for sure. Too bad it’s only once a year.

2 Responses to “Damn Failure”

  1. Bankuei said

    Hey, work at your own pace. Ron PM’d me, but after thinking hard, I came up dry. I figured I better spend my energy on stuff that I’m definitely jazzed about and can make some headway.

  2. Not only is my brain not wired that way, but my life doesn’t give me a nice 24-block of time available to putter. FLFS is almost entirely written in one-hour lunch break chunks.

    A long time ago I realized that the short story and the novel were completely different art forms, and that I had little interest in the shorts and a passion for writing the novels. I’m slowly coming to the realization that the same applies for the 24-hour games.

Leave a Reply

 
