Hamsterprophecy: Prevision

It\’s All About Pen, Paper and People.

Character Death

Posted by Nathan P. on March 16, 2006

I just realized that none of my game designs include a provision for character death.

In Timestream, you play until you are done with the character (satisfied, bored, whatever). I mean, I guess if you had a really harsh Strain break, and you were very low on a Capacity and you brought it down to -6, you could say that you died. But, if you don’t want it, no death for you.

The whole point of Carry is that everyone dies except your character.

The game I’m designing for Game Chef won’t have anything about character death. Again, character failure could lead to a narration of character death, but that’s a choice, nothing mechanical about it.

So, that’s interesting, in a “huh, that’s something I should think about” kind of way.

2 Responses to “Character Death”

  1. Bankuei said

    Obviously, that’s not a bad thing in my book.

  2. Heya,

    Nope not a bad thing at all. You’ll have to check out my Game Chef game for contrast. It has rules for Detectives to die. But the players must choose to put the character’s lives on the line. What that does is add a whole lot of tension and meaning to that scene. In fact, to me, that’s character death should do.

    Peace,

    -Troy

Leave a Reply

 
