Hamsterprophecy: Prevision

It\’s All About Pen, Paper and People.

Any Mac Wizards?

Posted by Nathan P. on December 12, 2006

So I dropped my Powerbook G4 the other day and I thought it wasn’t broken but I think it is.

Disc repair says that my volume has an Invalid Volume Header AND an Invalid Key Length and it can’t repair it. It won’t mount my hard disk to boot – I can boot from the install CD and from my Mac Mini (via Firewire), but I can’t get to any of the stuff on my hard disk either of those ways (unless there’s a trick I don’t know).

I mean, I’ll just wipe and reinstall, except that 85% of my game stuff is on that computer, including all of the graphics and layout files for my published games, and all of my notes for Imp.

All I need is to pull off some files, if I can. So, if anyone has some guidance, I’m all ears.

4 Responses to “Any Mac Wizards?”

  1. Ed Heil said

    when you say:

    “I can boot from the install CD and from my Mac Mini (via Firewire), but I can’t get to any of the stuff on my hard disk either of those ways (unless there’s a trick I don’t know).”

    Do you mean you’ve tried firing up the powerbook in “target mode” as a firewire disk you might be able to read from your mac mini, and it hasn’t worked?

  2. Ed’s got the only advice I’ve got aside from physically taking out the drive and trying it in a different machine.

  3. Yeh, thats what I did. I actually tried it both ways. My Mini wasn’t reading it at all when I booted the laptop in target mode, but the laptop could mount the Mini’s hard drive. Which didn’t really help me.

    I think I’m ok now. I did some fscking and managed to get it to boot, so I backed up everything to my external and am now re-formatting and re-installing OS X.

    So, it’s going to be a pain in the ass to reinstall all my software, reconfigure my prefs the way I like them and so on, (I couldn’t Archive and Install, I had to wipe the drive before the install would work) but hey, the computer appears to be working. Which is good.

    Thanks guys.

  4. Elliot Wilen said

    Two things to have around just in case something like this happens again:

    Disk Warrior
    Applejack

    You should install Applejack (which is free) right away. DW you can keep around for use after emergencies.

    Glad to hear you didn’t lose any data. Good luck–I hope the drive itself isn’t damaged. Might want to do regular backups just in case.

Leave a Reply

 
