Hamsterprophecy: Prevision

It\’s All About Pen, Paper and People.

Some More Words

Posted by Nathan P. on March 14, 2010

I was thinking about how useless “crunch” and “ruleslight” are as terms to describe games. Which led me to this (click to embiggen):

Play Matrix Image

This is for my experience playing these games, not a blanket "this is how these games are."

Difference between structured and “accidental” freeform is simply the difference between saying “we’re playing freeform” from the outset and playing a game with rules, but not actually using them because what you’re doing by yourselves is good enough.

Some food for thought.

One Response to “Some More Words”

  1. Marhault said

    While I find the chart very interesting, I’m not sure I agree that crunch and ruleslight are worthless. Loaded, maybe, but still useful.

Leave a comment